Home Technology Netflix starts charging users for password sharing: Here’s what we know

Netflix starts charging users for password sharing: Here’s what we know

134
0
Open source image

A report is claiming that Netflix is asking users to pay extra for infringing the policy, which states that the account shouldn’t be “shared with individuals beyond your household.”

It seems that Netflix has started charging its customers for sharing passwords with friends. This is not surprising, considering the company already announced the change in its policy in March. The announcement made it clear that Netflix no longer wants people to share account password with others and that it will start asking people to pay extra if they want to share the account with more people.

Following this, it conducted a test in Peru, Chile, and Costa Rica to crack down on password sharing. But, the company’s effort to prevent password sharing is not working the way it planned. A report from Rest of World is claiming that Netflix is asking users to pay extra for infringing the policy, which states that the account shouldn’t be “shared with individuals beyond your household.”

But, users simply chose to cancel the subscription when the popular video streaming service charged a few customers for going against the policy and sharing password with other people. While Netflix has already announced its new policy of charging extra for account sharing, it has still confused many people in Peru.

The cited source spoke to thousands of Netflix users and found that people were not officially informed about the additional charges that are being levied or about the new policy. Some of the users are still sharing accounts and haven’t received a notification for additional charges. Following this, a Netflix spokesperson told Rest of World that the rollout of the new policy is in progress and that different subscribers might be charged differently.

Is Netflix’s new policy also applicable to India?

As mentioned above, Netflix plans to prevent password sharing and this is currently being done in only Peru, Chile, and Costa Rica. This doesn’t mean that the new policy of charging extra to customers won’t come to other countries, including India. The company is just testing this in some places to see how this will turn out for them and then expand this to more countries. As of now, there is no word on when this policy will be made applicable to India. So, Indian users can relax for now.

WhatsApp double verification feature coming soon: What it means, why it is important

Previous articleElon Musk threatens to scrap Twitter deal over ‘breach’ of agreement
Next articleVlad hoshin twitter video | hoshin twitter video